content='-g1ag8b2x2u3trna1uvap2yuzxt5ae0xygxpqriv-9ulg0ksmts8w1uei/>

Sunday, December 15, 2013

REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY: A BEAUTIFUL WEDDING by JAMIE MCGUIRE

A Beautiful Wedding (Beautiful, #2.5)Series: Beautiful #2.5
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Atria
Publication Date: 12/10/13
Format: ARC
Pages: 160
Source: Publisher
Rating: 4 stars

You know that Abby Abernathy unexpectedly became Mrs. Maddox. But what do you really know?

Why did Abby pop the question?
What secrets were shared before the ceremony?
Where did they spend their wedding night?
Who else knew about it . . . and didn’t tell?

Everything about Abby and Travis’s elopement was top-secret . . . until now. Fans of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster will get all of their questions answered in this whirlwind tale of the wedding day (and night!)—and as with all good stories, this one will definitely have been worth the wait.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18528454-a-beautiful-wedding?from_search=true
"When a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever."  


I love novellas, particularly when they center around an event in a story or series that I still had questions about. A Beautiful Wedding is such a novella. I went in knowing the outcome, but the beauty in this was the details and the thoughtful manner in which McGuire explored the wedding between Travis and Abby.

One of the aspects of A Beautiful Disaster that I embraced was the character growth. Travis and Abby did not have their lives in order. But who does at their age? I can speak from experience when it comes to young love. And I can speak from experience of falling in love, and not quite knowing how to be a grown up. You learn. It may take months or it may take years. Even flawed characters, and people, deserve love. And if you can find a person who will love you regardless, you hold on for dear life and you try to become a better person, every single day. That is what I take away from Travis and Abbi's love story.

Travis and Abbi fought. They laughed. They fought. They cried. But in the end they loved. Fiercely. They grew, together. Travis recognized that he couldn't live his life fighting and f*cking. Abby recognized that her indecisiveness hurt those around her.  A Beautiful Wedding, while essentially the story of their quickie wedding, was also an acknowledgement to all they'd gone through. Just how fulfilling an all-encompassing and powerful love can be.

A Beautiful Wedding was an insightful and happy story. I'm very happy that I took the time to fall in love with Travis and Abby all over again.


Favorite Quote:

  Sensible or not, it felt good to be loved so much, and I decided right then and there I would stop apologizing for it. There were worse things than finding your soul mate too early in life, and what was too early anyway?   ~pg. 13
The Beautiful Series
Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1)  Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2)  A Beautiful Wedding (Beautiful, #2.5)



Giveaway
I have an extra copy of A Beautiful Wedding to give away!
Must be 18 years of age to enter. US Only (sorry!).

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the author
Jamie McGuireJamie McGuire is the New York Times bestselling author of five other novels: Walking Disaster, Beautiful Disaster, Providence, Requiem, and Eden. She and her husband, Jeff, live with their children just outside Enid, Oklahoma, with three dogs, six horses, and a cat named Rooster.









Photobucket

38 comments :

  1. I wouldn't suggest eloping, but if my spouse really wanted to I'd consider it. I totally get why people do, but I want a wedding with my family there. But, it's not the ceremony that matters so much as who I'm with.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am already married but I have been trying to talk my husband into going and renewing our vows in vegas sometime. He is not convinced....yet. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Absolutely! I think having the big wedding is sometimes overrated.

    ReplyDelete
  4. i read this last night, it was a quick fun read and yes, pigeon is still a romantic nickname!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hmm.. I'm kind of torn about this one. Not really sure it was necessary but I do love Trabby. Nice review babe

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yeah, I would probably elope. We had planned on going to Vegas for our 10th anniversary to renew our vows (of course we didn't have kids when we married, so it was a way to celebrate our anniversary for the whole family!) but unfortunately Uncle Sam had other ideas and sent hubby on an all expenses paid trip to a different desert. Oh well, hopefully we can it for our 20th! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I would MOST definitely elope to Las Vegas for my wedding!!! I think it is so romantic and spontaneous!!! I think it is fabulous!!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I would. I eloped and have been with my husband 18 years now. You could always do a big wedding later if wanted.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I would. I eloped and have been with my husband 18 years now. You could always do a big wedding later if wanted.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sure! I hate the idea of a big elaborate wedding but if I had a choice, a beach would be better :) Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I like the idea of a destination wedding, but Vegas really isn't my style!!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I would like to think so but not sure, already married and I loved my wedding it was small but all my closest people were there

    ReplyDelete
  13. I cant wait to read this one! I always wanted to see their wedding! Great review Andrea!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I haven't read the books but I'm familiar with how intense the series is. I bet a lot of fans swooned over this! The ultimate HEA

    ReplyDelete
  15. I would elope to Las Vegas if I weren't already married. After all I eloped when I did get married.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Nah, I want my parents to be there.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Just got this and can't wait to find time for it. You know how I feel about eloping. :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. I haven't read the series but I am seriously in love with that cover.

    We eloped. My hubby had just got out of basic training in Orlando. We got married in the morning and went to Busch Gardens for the day. it was one of the best decisions I ever made lol

    ReplyDelete
  19. Absolutely loved this book! Thank you for finishing Travis & Abby's story in this way.
    I would elope because I had the big white wedding 30 years ago and if there were ever to be a new marriage eloping would be the way I'd want to go & Vegas is just 1 hr flight from Phoenix!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I really enjoyed this story. Beautiful Review Andrea! I agree about the huge amount of character growth that they went through in this story, and I thought it really showed all that Travis and Abby went through too. I love how you add your personal stories and wisdom in to your reviews. It's always such a pleasure treading your observations and how you relate your readings to your own experiences :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. Cant wait to read this! I would definitely elope in Vegas, probably what my husband and I should have done and saved a bunch of cash :)

    ReplyDelete
  22. Knowing what I know now, yeah I would totally elope in Vegas. But of course before I got married that was unheard of.

    ReplyDelete
  23. My little brother is currently planning his wedding, and they are stressing on all the details.So yes I would more than likely elope if I ever get married!! I don't need that kind of stress!

    ReplyDelete
  24. Oh yea I would elope to Las Vegas. Happy Reading.

    ReplyDelete
  25. I personally wasn't a fan of the first book of the series, but I know that it has a lot of die-hard fans. I'm glad to hear that this novella was a great addition, Andrea. It's always wonderful when you get more answers.
    Lovely review, Andrea.

    ReplyDelete
  26. I honestly don't know what i will do... I guess it depends on my emotional state and what i think is right. But i love this series so thanks so much for the awesome giveaway!!!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Brilliant review, Andrea! I can't wait to read all about Abby & Travis' wedding. It sounds like it all wrapped up well and was perfectly them! :)

    ReplyDelete
  28. I would totally elope to Vegas. Thank you for the review and giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Oh I have the first book, I have not read it yet but Travis sounds fun!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not sure if I would elope to Vegas, but sounds daring :D

      Delete
  30. Indian weddings are beautiful and elaborate but the celebrations last for days and can be bank-breaking as well as back-breaking. If eloping meant avoiding all that craziness then definitely yes!

    ReplyDelete
  31. I think it would be great to elope to Vegas. My husband and I visited there a couple years back and it was such an exciting place. With all the stress around planning a wedding, eloping there would be great fun!!

    ReplyDelete
  32. I haven't read BD yet but I've heard it's great! I love novellas that give you a glimpse into the characters' lives after the end, too. Great review!

    Vi
    AKA Vi3tBabe
    Deity Island

    ReplyDelete
  33. I'm already married, so no more weddings for me, lol!

    ReplyDelete
  34. I'm already married, so no more weddings for me, lol!

    ReplyDelete
  35. I really enjoyed this one to Andrea and was glad to get to know more about the events surrounding the wedding.

    ReplyDelete
  36. Oh yes, I most definitely would elope to Vegas!!!

    ReplyDelete
  37. I loved this. I always wanted to know about the wedding. Glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete

Comments are bloggy food. Feed me!

Recent Post